Your browser version is no longer supported, so you may experience issues while using this site.
Please upgrade to a current browser to enjoy the best experience.

Home Insurance

You're in good hands. AAMI is the trusted home insurer provider of around 800,000 Australian homes.

Great Customer Rewards

Buy car & home insurance to
Save 20%
before 5 July!

Both new and existing eligible customers can save 20% off their second new eligible policy.

Second New Eligible Policy

  • If you purchase or have an existing AAMI Car or Motorcycle policy, you can get 20% off new AAMI home insurance.  (‘New AAMI home insurance’ excludes landlord, strata and fire and theft contents insurance)
  • If you purchase or have an existing AAMI Home, Landlord or CTP policy, you can get 20% off new AAMI car insurance.  (‘New AAMI car insurance’ excludes CTP and Roadside Assist) 

Refer to the T&Cs.

First Eligible Policy

If you first purchase or have an existing AAMI Car, AAMI CTP NSW, AAMI Motorcycle, AAMI Home and/or Contents and AAMI Landlord insurance policies, you will be eligible for this campaign. Refer to the T&Cs.

Types of Property Insurance

Customer Rating 5.0 stars out of 5 stars 5.0 stars out of 5 stars  ( 5.0 out of 5)

What Home Insurance do you need?

Whether you’re a homeowner, renter or landlord, AAMI offers home insurance that can help keep you covered. You can get coverage for your building, the contents inside it or both, for houses, townhouses, apartments and more.

AAMI Home and Contents Insurance offers cover for events like storms, fire and theft, as well as optional cover for portable items like jewellery, watches and bicycles. You can also consider Complete Replacement Cover, which offers our best protection against under-insurance.

More for AAMI customers

Added security

Wireless and easy to install. No ongoing costs.

Energy efficient

Carbon-neutral. Long-lasting bulbs that use less energy.

Smart technology

App controlled. Some products are Google Home and Amazon Alexa compatible*.

Reason to choose AAMI Insurance

We offer unparalleled customer service

24/7 claims, the AAMI Lucky Club and access to online tools.

Contact AAMI

Here when you need us most

Like a big sigh of relief, we'll be here when you need us most. We may even make you smile.

More about our claims

Trusted since 1969

Proud to be one of Australia's most respected and successful insurers for over 45 years.

More about AAMI

Downsizing, investing or selling up?

You can access the latest market information on properties you own, rent or are viewing with the Suncorp App.

Extras and tools with our Home Insurance

Complete Replacement Cover

Our best protection against under insurance. If your home is damaged or destroyed by an insured event, we’ll choose to repair, rebuild your house as it was, or pay you what it would cost us to do so.

Learn more

Contents Calculator

Not sure how much to insure your contents for? Use this simple calculator to help you estimate the value of your contents and choose your sum insured.

Launch calculator

Portable Valuables

Extra cover for mobile phones, laptops, bicycles, handbags and a range of other items that you're likely to take outside your home.

Learn more

Home insurance articles

Showing 3 of 4 articles Showing 2 of 4 articles Showing 1 of 4 articles
View all AAMI Answers

Frequently asked questions

 

Find out exactly what AAMI customers think about our Home Insurance.

Home Insurance is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1327.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I didn’t realise how quick & easy it was to organise.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Competitive It was a quick competitive and ‘comprehensive’ process!
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features. Easy D.I.Y. over the internet. I'm very happy about my experience with on line home and content insurance.
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Renewal dearer than a new policy Why is a renewal more expensive than a new policy?
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great way to seek insurance easy to answer questions, simple to access, best value after days of searching
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Price Happy with end result that,s all I need to say, please do not e-mail me
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great policy so easy to do, lined up on lin and had cover shortly
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bad policy renewal The policy renewal quote is always more than the on line quote. As a long time AAMI customer I think I should be quoted the best possible price for the policy and i should not have to go through the process of going on line.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY TO JOIN EASY TO JOIN ONLINE FOUND TO BE ONE OF THE CHEAPEST
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Competitively Priced Decided to go with AAMI as my car insurance is with them too and they're competitively priced.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy home insurance Easy to use and understand. Good discount for being a current customer
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Information everywhere, YES! I found this whole experience incredibly easy, quick and informative. Every question I had, there was an answer to. Thanks AAMI, I look forward to being covered by you if this is the kind of experience I can expect.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Really happy with the price and ease of use and the website was easy to follow
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wonderful value I have been happy with this experience I received the information required
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so easy to use Compared to other sites - this was so easy to use!!
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved $60 Very easy, saved $60, only took 5 minutes to set up!
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple and quick The online quote request was easy to follow and very quick to complete.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I found this web site portal extremely frustrating your insurance application web site is very user unfriendly I had spent at least 1.5 hours trying to get to the point where I could pay. then trying to get a quote for life insurance I just gave up.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy application Good experience. Easy to use. User Friendly. Good work AAAMI
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way too easy Have used AAMI in the past with motor as well and very please with the prompt responses to queries and the ease of use of the various services.
Date published: 2018-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great product with minor user unfriendly factors. The web works well once you get used to it, but otherwise a smooth system.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy navigation. Paying online is quick & easy. We shop around for good value with our insurances & AAMI provided that this time.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to negotiate website I am very happy with the service i have had today, thank you
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super easy insuring our first home was super easy with AAMI's online system, we will be moving our car insurance over soon. go AAMI!
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use So far so good, very easy to use and to access and retrieve a quote. So far AAMI have exceeded my expectations.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy!!!! Cannot believe how quick and easy that process was.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great very easy and fast. online was easy to follow. easy to use
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great deal very good and easy.dont be conned by others ripping you off this company doesnt
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Home and Contents Insurance I was very happy with the price of my policy. AAMI are one of only a few companies that allow you to insure a granny flat as one of their options. They made it easy for me to cover all necessary items.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No stupid questions Happy with online quote, relatively easy. Reasonable quote.
Date published: 2018-07-02
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_81, tr_1246
  • loc_en_AU, sid_in.aami.home.buy, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_aami
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 542ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Contents damage or loss

Covers loss of, or damage to, the things in your home, garage and/or shed after an insured event. This can include electronics, furniture, clothing and more.  You can also add Portable Valuables Cover for items you often take outside the home, such as a laptop computer.

Building damage or loss

Covers loss of, and damage to, buildings, if caused by an insured event such as fire, break-ins and weather events (like storm, flood and bushfire). Buildings covered include your home, along with garages and sheds.

Complete Replacement Cover

This Optional Extra is exclusive to AAMI. It means that we'll repair or rebuild your house as it was, or pay you the cash equivalent, without you having to set a specific sum insured limit.

High Value/Risk Items

If you have a high-value (over $1,000) or high-risk item, you need to specify it to cover its full value, as such items are not necessarily included as unspecified portable items. Items that need to be specified include:

  • Laptops, mobile phones and electronic tablets
  • GPS or navigational devices
  • Photographic equipment
  • Golf carts
  • Motorised wheelchairs or mobility scooters.

Portable Items

Unspecified Portable Items is an optional protection for accidental loss or damage to personal valuables normally carried with you away from home (anywhere in Australia and New Zealand).  This can cover items such as such as:

  • Jewellery and watches
  • Cameras
  • Handbags and wallets
  • Handheld gaming systems
  • Glasses and sunglasses
  • iPods/MP3 players
  • Bicycles and sports equipment*.

These items don’t need to be specified to be covered.

*Sporting equipment is covered when not being used, except for bicycles which are covered if not racing or pace-making.

Tenant Protection

Protect your property against unpaid rent up to $6,000, theft by your tenants and their guests to the value of your contents sum insured, up to $20,000 and malicious damage by your tenants and their guests up to $30,000. We will also replace locks if your tenant doesn’t return the keys up to $800.

Loss of rent

If an insured event occurs and your property is unliveable as a result, we’ll pay the weekly rental amount for up to 52 weeks or $25,000, whichever is less.

Contents damage or loss up to your chosen amount

Covers loss of, or damage to, the things in your home, garage and/or shed after an insured event. This can include electronics, furniture, clothing and more. You can also add Portable Valuables Cover for items you often take outside the home, such as a laptop computer.

Tenant Protection

Up to $25,000 for damage to, or loss of, the contents of your home caused by fire or break-ins.

Temporary accommodation

If your home is deemed unliveable following an insured event, we offer cover for the reasonable costs of temporary accommodation for the time it will take to repair or rebuild your home. The most we’ll pay is up to 4 weeks in short term accommodation, such as a hotel, and then up to another 48 weeks in residential accommodation if necessary. We’ll also cover the cost of redirecting mail to the temporary address and connecting utilities. Not available with Fire & Theft Contents Insurance.

Office bearer’s liability

Covers up to $1 million for office bearers or committee members if a claim is made against them for a wrongful act.

Shared contents

Offers cover for contents shared between multiples strata properties, such as washing machines, gardening equipment and shared gym equipment that doesn't belong to a unit owner or tenant, covered up to a chosen Sum Insured.

Back in Business

Offers cover for contents shared between multiples strata properties, such as washing machines, gardening equipment and shared gym equipment that doesn't belong to a unit owner or tenant, covered up to a chosen Sum Insured.

Glass & signs

Offers cover for contents shared between multiples strata properties, such as washing machines, gardening equipment and shared gym equipment that doesn't belong to a unit owner or tenant, covered up to a chosen Sum Insured.

Public Liability

Offers cover for contents shared between multiples strata properties, such as washing machines, gardening equipment and shared gym equipment that doesn't belong to a unit owner or tenant, covered up to a chosen Sum Insured.

Got a question?

Ask the AAMI Virtual Assistant